Shandon Win National Women's Rosebowl

The 2020 Wellington District Women's Champion of Champions team Shandon have gone on to win the national title in a repeat of the 2019 team's success in also winning this trophy.

An event with a strong history, approaching its 50th year, first won by Geraldine GC in 1976, Shandon have joined Pakuranga and Manawatu Golf clubs as the only 3 time national champions.

The Darae Chung lead team, had Regina Kang from last year's winning team and the young Toaiva Faafia making up their winning combination.

Wellington clubs have some history in this event, Hutt GC (now BFHGC) winning in 1984 with the then NZ Rep Tracey Hanson (now Bishop)  leading the valley side to victory.

Daisy Seiringer lead her Manor Park team to succes in 1979 and then lead Trentham to the same result in 1993, an effort matched by Margot Thomson (now Oliver) leading Shandon in 1983 and then Wellington (now Royal Wellington) in 1995.

The 2019 Shandon winning side was piloted by Yewoo Hyun, and the team doubled up on this success this year with Darae at the helm. This years victory was even more remarkable given the extremely challenging conditions (100kph+ winds) that the district event was completed in.