Paraparaumu College beat St Pat's town again for Championship title

Paraparumu College make it the double

The 2016 Wellington Collegiate Golf Championship was held at Royal Wellington Golf Club on Tuesday, 5th April 2016.  This year's event saw 16 colleges and 64 players in the tournament.

Some excellent golf was played, with the Paraparaumu College team (Ferfus Aitken, Connor Levesque, Alex Lopez-Sanchez & Cooper Wattam) winning the Greenstone Trophy ahead of St Patrick's College (Kilbirnine) - Aiden Blackler, Chris Burt, Dylan Geusebroek and Thomas Woods.  It's the second time in recent weeks that Paraparaumu College have just beaten St Pat's Town for a College Sport Wellington Championship title.  Last week it was the Philips Cup, this week its the Team Championship.  Of course, that's good news for Wellington golf, with an increasing pool of golfing talent coming through the ranks. 

In the Nett Competition, the Aotea College team of Daniel Hillier, Jason Prachith, Cameron Wardlaw and Trey Shedlock took home the College Sport Trophy, just ahead of the Paraparaumu team.

In the individual Championship competition, there were no surprises with Daniel Hillier (Aotea College) taking out the Mark Brown Cup, with a gross score of 65.  Erica Cui (Chilton) led the girls home with a gross score of 78.

The boys individual nett competition was won by another Aotea college student  - Jason Prachith, and the Girls was won by Michelle Huang (Chilton)

Congratulations to all winners and players for an excellent tournament in stunning conditions.  Thank you to College Sport Wellington for facilitating this competition and to Royal Wellington Golf Club for hosting again this year.