New Zealand senior sides named to take on Bledisloe rivals

Golf New Zealand has named strong New Zealand men’s and women’s senior sides to take on Australia for the Tran-Tasman Trophy in Taupo next year.

Six men over the age of 55 and six women over 50 will compete against our Tasman neighbours from February 13 and 14, 2024, playing foursomes, fourball, and singles over three rounds at Taupo Golf Club.

Tony Chettleburgh (Feilding), Stu Duff (Hastings), Malcolm Gullery (Boulcott Heritage Farm), Craig Newman (Greenacres), Brent Paterson (Royal Auckland Grange) and Tam Slaven (Paraparaumu Beach) make up the men’s team who will play for the Sanctuary Cove Trophy – a piece of silverware they’ve lifted nine times previously.

Chettleburgh, Duff, Gullery and Paterson have plenty of tournament golf under their belts, having competed in Vietnam at the Asia Pacific Seniors. Duff was the best of the Kiwis, finishing in a tie for second one stroke behind Australian James Lavendar.

Newman returns to the senior golfing scene while Slaven will make his senior representative debut.

Last year, New Zealand was dominant, winning 10-2. The same four recently in Vietnam, all played in that team.

The New Zealand Senior women’s side is looking to get their hands on the Trans-Tasman Cup for the first time. Robyn Boniface (Queens Park), Vaha Fapiano (North Shore), Lisa Herbert (Manawatu), Robyn Pellow (Ngaruawahia), Robyn Pullar (Invercargill) and Diana Syer (Hastings) have been selected to represent New Zealand at senior level, with a few faces making their debuts.

Herbert and Vapiano now qualify and are strong additions to the team. Both are very experienced, having played for their provinces in the New Zealand Interprovincials in recent years. Herbert also recently finished in a tie for third at the Asia Pacific Senior Amateur.

The balance of the team all played in 2022 when losing 3-9 to the Australians. They include the Robyn’s, Boniface, Pellow and Pullar, along with Diana Syer.