Freyberg Masters National Interprovincial Team Named

The Golf Wellington Selection Panel has named their team to compete for the Freyberg Masters Trophy, being held at the Poverty Bay Golf Club in Gisborne from Saturday 4th November till Friday 10th November.

With a strong squad and good lead up results, this was a tough choice for the panel, testament to the depth of players and success of teams in the Masters space, over the last few years.

1. Jonno Cane, Manor Park  2. Elton Nicholson (Captain), BFHGC  3. Mark Whalen, BFHGC 

4. Brad Rowland, BFHGC  5. Matt Pegg, Shandon  Reserve. Mark Bowden, BFHGC. 

Manager. Steve Weir.

The tournament proper gets underway for Wellington on Monday - first up opponents, locals Poverty Bay, followed by matches against Taranaki, Hawkes Bay, BOP, Tasman, Auckland, Canterbury and North Harbour.  A tough draw, normally the case for the previous champions.

Results can be followed on the Golf NZ website and the Golf Wellington Facebook page.