After conducting a final pre-event security report, the Asia-Pacific Golf Confederation (APGC) have decided to prioritise the safety and security of all participants, delegates, team officials, and event staff by postponing the event until 2020.

The tournament was scheduled to be played from November 5 – 8 at Clearwater Bay, Hong Kong, has now been rescheduled for a tentative week in June 2020.  

The Nomura Cup is a biennial competition rotated among the Asia-Pacific region. It was first held in the Philippines in 1963.

Each team consists of four male players, contesting 18 holes of stroke play for four days. In each round, the lowest three individual scores make up the team score for the round.

The four-day (72-hole) total is the team’s score for the championship. The winning team receives the Nomura Cup, which was named after Shun Nomura, the former Vice-President of the Japan Golf Association who donated the Cup.

The revised New Zealand team to attend the event were Kazuma Kobori, Luke Brown, Kerry Mountcastle and Tyler Wood, who had replaced a now unavailable Harry Hillier.

A team re-selection date will be set once the new event dates have been finalised.